CD & Youtube Recordings

Enquiries about purchasing CDs to the Parish Office please

On Christmas Night (2013)

Sample tracks available 

Director: Robert Lewis
Organist: Julian Cooper
Recorded: St Thomas-on-The Bourne
Recorded by: Thomas Ashworth
Date: 27th August 2013 and 3rd Nov 2013

This stunning CD incorporates new arrangements of popular favourites and beautifully composed less well known music.
A great Christmas gift for family and friends! Contact the Parish Office if you would like a copy.
Sung by the choirs of St Thomas-on-The Bourne, it encapsulates the festive period with a mixture of choir-only carols; as well as congregational carols, with new trumpet arrangements by our Director, Robert Lewis. The choir-only pieces are sung by the boy and girl choristers, and gentlemen, while members of the chamber choir participate in the congregational carols.

1. The Carol Of The Bells:  Trad Ukrainian folk song
2. O Come, All Ye Faithful:  J.F.Wade, Desc: Willcocks, Fanfare: David Hill, Trumpets arr: Robert Lewis
3. Sussex Carol:  Trad, arr D.Willcocks
4. Midwinter:  Bob Chilcott, Words by Christina Rossetti
5. Once in Royal David’s City:  H.G Gauntlett, Words Cecil Alexander, Arr. Willcocks, Trumpets arr. Robert Lewis
6. Ons is Gheboren Een Kindekijn:  Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
7. Ding dong, Merrily On High: 16thC French tune, harmonised by C. Wood, Words by G.R. Woodward
8. Bethlehem Down:  P. Warlock, Words by P. Blunt
9. O Little Town of Bethlehem:  Arr. R.V. Williams and Robert Lewis, Words by Bishop Phillip Brooks
10. I Saw Three Ships:  Trad, Arr R. Lloyd
11. Away in A Manger:   Music by W.J.Kirkpatrick, arr D. Hill
12. O Magnum Mysterium:  Music by Morten Lauridsen
13. The First Nowell:  Trad, arr Willcocks, Last verse harmonies by J. O’Donnell, Trumpets arr Robert Lewis
14. The Three Kings:  Music by P. Cornelius, words by H.N. Bates
15. Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day:  Trad, arr A. Carter
16. Silent Night:  Music by F. Grüber, Words by J Mohr, Arr Robert Lewis
17. A Minuit Fut Fait Un Reveil:  Jean François d’Andrieu
18. Hark The Herald Angels Sing:  F. Mendelssohn, Words by C. Wesley, Arr. Willcocks, Trumpets Arr Robert Lewis


Four Girls in Harmony (2018)

Sample tracks available

Sung by the Girls’ Quartet Accompanied by Andrew Harrap

Recorded “in house” at St Thomas-on-The Bourne in April and June 2018

This CD comprises a selection of beautiful sacred and secular music from the 16th through 20th centuries. It includes solo, duet, 3-part and 4-part pieces written or arranged for upper voices, sung by the Girls' Quartet from the Choir of St Thomas-on-The Bourne. The girls are accompanied on piano and organ by Andrew Harrap. It is an “in-house” recording of amateur performers.

1.Tomorrow shall be my dancing day: arranged Andrew Carter

2 . How far is it to Bethlehem: arranged David Willcocks

3. This little babe: Benjamin Britten

4. The Infant King: arranged John Rutter

5. O vos Omnes: Tomás Luis de Victoria

6. Stabat Mater Giovanni Pergolesi

7. Confitemini Domino: Alessandro Constantini

8. Allelujah, laus et gloria: Orlando di Lasso

9. Consacrons nos airs: François Couperin

10. Sound the Trumpet: Henry Purcell

11. He shall feed his flock: George Frideric Handel

12. Laudamus Te: Antonio Vivaldi

13. Psalm 23: Franz Schubert

14. Terzetto: Felix Mendelssohn

15. I waited for the Lord: Felix Mendelssohn

16. Lift thine eyes: Felix Mendelssohn

17. Pie Jesu: Gabriel Fauré

18. Cantique de Jean Racine: Gabriel Fauré

19. Tantum ergo: Gabriel Fauré

20. Steal away: Spiritual, arranged John C Phillips


Light of the World (1999)     SOLD OUT

Anthems of praise and supplication

Director: David Swinson
Organist: Peter Wright
Recorded: Charterhouse Chapel
Date: May 1999

"... a Real Choir producing Real Singing (gutsy not gassy) ... a pleasing broad-canvas portrait of a group with special qualities under the imaginative and energetic direction of David Swinson. Antiseptic poly-wrapped music this is not." (Farnham Herald)

1 Ave verum corpus: Colin Mawby 
2 Bogoroditsye Dyevo: Sergei Rakhmaninov 
3 How lovely are thy dwellings fair: Johannes Brahms 
4 Jesu, the very thought of thee: Edward Bairstow 
5 The Call: Ralph Vaughan Williams 
6 I will lift up mine eyes: Ernest Walker 
7 Organ: Te Deum: Jeanne Demessieux 
8 Litany to the Holy Spirit: Peter Hurford 
9 Ave verum corpus: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 
10 Insanæ et Vanæ curæ: Franz Josef Haydn 
11 If ye love me: Thomas Tallis 
12 Miserere mei: William Byrd 
13 View me, Lord: Charles Wood 
14 The Lord is my Shepherd: Colin Mawby 
15 O thou, the central Orb: Charles Wood 
16 O Saviour of the world: John Goss
17 Light of the world: John Dankworth 
18 Hymn to the Trinity: Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky 
19 O Lorde, the maker of al thing: John Joubert 
20 Geistliches Lied: Johannes Brahms


One Cold Dark Night (1996)  SOLD OUT

Christmas Carols

Director: David Swinson
Organist: Jeremy Filsell
Recorded: Charterhouse Chapel
Date: May 1996<

"... buy several copies of this disc. Keep some for use in the car, lounge, walkman and friends’ houses, and give some away as presents. The music-making has a rare spirit and integrity and the whole recording is lovingly rendered ..." (Farnham Herald)

 1 A spotless rose: Herbert Howells 
2 Vigilate: William Byrd 
3 One in royal David's city: H. J. Gauntlett, arr. Philip Ledger 
4 The Sussex carol: David Gabe 
5 In the bleak midwinter: Harold Darke 
6 Hark! the herald angels sing: Felix Mendelssohn, arr. David Gabe 
7 The Lamb: John Tavener 
8 Silent night: Franz Grüber, arr. Barry Rose/Kevin Jacot 
9 The holly and the ivy: John Gardner 
10 O come, all ye faithful: J.F. Wade, arr. David Gabe 
11 The Coventry carol: Original tune, 1591 
12 One cold, dark night: Peter White 
13 Whence is that goodly fragrance: George McPhee 
14 The Three Kings: Peter Cornelius, arr. Ivor Atkins 
15 Follow that star: Peter Gritton 
16 Sir Christèmas: William Mathias 
17 Tomorrow shall be my dancing day: John Gardener


I will sing with the Spirit (1995)   SOLD OUT

Popular 19th and 20th Century Anthems

Director: David Swinson
Organist: Jeremy Filsell
Recorded: St Thomas-on-The Bourne
Date: October 1995

"... this really is a fine parish church choir which on the basis of this disc can deliver performances of the standard repertory equal to many better known collegiate foundations and cathedrals ..." (Church Music Quarterly)

1 God is gone up: Gerald Finzi 
2 I will sing with the spirit: John Rutter 
3 And I saw a new heaven: Edgar Bainton 
4 Tantum ergo: Maurice Duruflé 
5 There shall a star from Jacob: Felix Mendelssohn 
6 Great lord of lords: Charles Wood 
7 Listen, sweet dove: Grayston Ives 
8 Cantique de Jean Racine: Gabriel Fauré 
9 Panis angelicus: César Franck 
10 Hear my prayer: Felix Mendelssohn 
11 God be in my head: John Rutter 
12 Ubi caritas: Maurice Duruflé 
13 Greater love hath no man: John Ireland 

Please note that the CDs have not been generally released so it is not possible to find them in local record shops or online. We have had some enquiries about buying copies of the CDs but can only provide (genuine) copies on cassette as only a limited number of CDs were originally made and these have now been sold. Please contact Julian Cooper for further details.

CD covers included by kind permission of Herald AV Publications, Farnham.

The choir in Belgium in 2014 :